My Mind Rocks Back

April 26, 2024

“All four legs, Michael.”

“It’s hard – I’ve got two really long ones.”

Not an excuse
Just a reason
It thundered last night
April’s the season!

My mind rocks back
In a legged chair
Humid Kansas,
Curly hair
Remembering

Mosquito’s buzz playing in my ear
I slowly slipped back to senior year

Choices I was full young enough to make
So much advice I should have been
Old enough to take
Who am I kidding,
I’d be a fake

If I didn’t admit – I’m yet young enough
And older still
With a record, rough
Holding the same quill.

The grass is always greener,
And the bullies aren’t always meaner…

So I signed off on a brand new fence
Between my own past
And my own present-tense.

Manalives!
Covet our own wives!
Chrysali
Receive the prize.

Rocking and swatting
At a thousand mosquitoes
I feel the ground
Leave the tips of my toes.
Flat on my back now
Seeing rainbows’

Worth of butterflies
Reaching, reaching
For the Skyes.
I woke up this morning
To live and realize

Before and beyond
All the chagrin and regret
For His mercy, grace, beauty, joy
I shall praise Him, yet!

Leave a comment