The Shivers…

December 8, 2014

The shivers came on slow
Like I almost didn’t know,

And I saw behind me
A field of ice-

Thought to myself
“That’s
Kinda crazy But, Oddly, nice.”

See, the loneliness
Was sort of an excess
Of unwelcome company

And the change in me
Was nothing short
Of a shift
In the para-DIME
Ministry

I painted

Reality… on a teacup…

Drank some Darjeeling…
Down,

And broke it
Up…

Just like that,
Then put on my hat,

And sold my cat
To
Fund my flight
With nothing but a carry-on
Full of fear

To mirror
The
Short-comings of
An imperfect, impassioned
Peer.

And yet,
The captain,
Just as before,
Whispered
In my ear

Between “…turbulence…”
And
“…safety belts, please…”

“There’s more,
M’boy…
There’s more.”

-So clear.

Leave a Reply

