Piercing the Precious Now…

December 16, 2013

 

A dull
Ache
A
Pounding
In the heart

A full
Furrowed frown.

With an whole
History
To start,

The stupid screen’s
Coming down.

The scars,
Past, become
The knives
Piercing the precious now-
Our lives!

The point!
It penetrates,
Bitterness bites,
Gravity’s
Gut-wrenching grimace
Commences.

Now, I’m breaking
Both my arms- my legs?
Falling off these-
These furtive fences!

In the backyard
Of my maudlin mind
Teeth, clenched,
Beginning to grind

I hear a little boy
Crying, inside of me,
Now God, please- please…
I want- I wanna be free.

Then a friend-
A dear friend-
Quietly,
From up ahead?
Behind?
I hear him:

Victory.

Leave a Reply

