House of Cards

November 8, 2010

“Tear down
this house of cards
and build-
build
a humble
home.”

She whispered words
of empty boast-
oh, we both should’ve
known.

I tripped
On what she
“Loved” the most.
It woke us from the
dream.

The sound of broken-
shattered parts,
farewell’s not
what I mean.

And if you could see the
clouds in my mind-

If you could feel the
rain inside-

If you could walk the
paths I run-

If you could be-
be the one.

Then I
would-

Then I would-
Then I would
dare to say hello.

Then I would-
Then I might
dare to get to know

who you are.

Again-
I’d dare that dare,
again,

but falling’s still a sin.
Either way the boat tips,
Any way the boot slips,
On anything, this toe trips,

Falling’s still a sin.
Do I dare to let that
May-be,
In?

I’d dare that dare
Again.

I’ll bear the
blessed
bricks’nd
begin.

Enough with my back
to thoughts of love.
It’s not good to be
alone.

Torn down-
This house of
cards.
We’ll build
a humble
home.

Unless He builds the house
they
work
in
vain.

I dare that dare
If you can bear-
share
this
pain.

Exchanging lives,
Our hope’s in Christ.
In this
respect
we
gain.

Leave a Reply

