I Was Not Whole…

April 1, 2010

“There’s a little truth
To what I said.
To find out what,
You’ve gotta be dead.”

I heard those words
As I hit my head,
Woke up in
A white hospital bed.

Limbless, in
A state of dread.

I realized
Souls
Are only as good
As what they’re fed.

If you’d’ve cut me,
I wouldn’t’ve bled.

My heart became
A block of lead.

As tears with
Bitterness, were wed.

My eyes closed,
My body rose,
Now-knowing
The face of its soul.

Conscious of
The trying truth,
That
I…
was not…
Whole.

One Response to “I Was Not Whole…”

  1. slpmartin Says:

    Such and excellent and powerful poem…thanks for sharingit.


Leave a Reply

