Be still… and do… ?

February 14, 2010

I’m in my hammock this night… another of my three cats sits on my feet… She’s shivering… not for how cold it is… for my house, it’s actually rather warm tonight… I honestly don’t know why she’s shivering… her muscles are obviously quite involved… but she, as a whole, seems very relaxed… perhaps even asleep.  She’s purring with extra muscle spasms involved, I guess…

Anyway, I lay here… praying… and texting friends God has given me… wishing, for their sakes, that we could all be in heaven, so that they wouldn’t have to go through all of these “perks” that come with living in a fallen world…

I’ve been asking God all night what He wants me to do tomorrow… on the drive home earlier, He reminded me of my friend James… perhaps tomorrow, I will excersize the relationship God has given me with James.

I was chatting earlier with a dear friend of mine… when I told her I was asking God what He wants me to do tomorrow… she responded, “What if God doesn’t want you to do anything tomorrow? -rest in Him, be still.”

I told her that God should tell me, then.

Once I said that I realized that I had just assumed the role of telling God what He SHOULD do…

Having been humbled by God’s spirit, I changed my position to a more honest, truthful one, that of: “I would appreciate it if He would tell me.”

Ahh, good times…

So, typing all this out, I realize how my cat’s behaviour is surprisingly relevant to my situation tonight.

The muscles are moving, but the mind is still -content… sitting on the feet of her master… curled into a ball of worrylessness…

If her master were to stir, she could not help but be moved…

God, may I rest on Your feet. Take my cares.  I know You care for me… Thank you for how strong You are… Please show me how to love You, and in turn, how to love James…

That… is all…

I’ll be reading Zechariah some tonight… and quite perhapsably some of John, azwell…

May God bless you all through His Spirit, with Comfort and Strength…

Keep Smyling… Praying… Trusting…

-MAC <>< = )

One Response to “Be still… and do… ?”


  1. oh, pretty picture, of sitting on God’s feet, resting, so that when He moves, we’ll know.
    To God be all glory,
    Lisa


Leave a Reply

