If I go crazy, then…

January 25, 2010

“If I go crazy then will you still call me super man? …”

Would you?

Of course not.

Most likely you wouldn’t have called me super man in the first place.

Tonight, I realize there are plenty who’ve come before me who haven’t been super men either… but they’ve been men, they’ve experienced life, they’ve fallen, some have been picked up.  They’ve sung songs, cried tears, laughed for nigh-inexpressible joy, heard stories, lived stories, told stories, seen stories come… and go. 

Tonight, I was the tellee… tonight, my mother poured perfect little mind-bite sized stories onto the plate between us, and we ate them together…

late into the night.

3:30 it is now, and she’s just gone to bed, after apologizing for having kept me up so late. 

I don’t mind.

My eyelids are tight, from dried yawn-tears…

My brother’s lock pick set is tucked safely away in the side zipper pocket of my sling bag… a bottle of iron dust -collected half a decade ago- rubs shoulders with some long-forgotten (some broken) toys, all crammed into a small cardboard box whose original occupation was to hold (to a twelve year old) the world’s greatest cereal bars.

So many memories…

“No way was that him.” I say to myself, as my mind plays back memories I have of wrestling with a short, scrawny, pale-skinned, blonde-haired kid in a tank top. 

I just heard the wind roaring over the top of the chimney. 

God, what would You have me do tomorrow?

“He has shown you, oh man, what is good.  And what does the Lord require of you: but to do justly, to love mercy, and to walk humbly with your God.”

“Teach me, oh Lord, the way of Your statutes, and I shall keep it to the end.”

“Nothing’s going to change…”  “Everybody’s changing, and I… don’t feel the same.”

“Life’s a dance you learn as you go.”

“Unless a grain of wheat… fall to the ground… and die! …”

“A time to embrace, and a time to refrain from embracing.”

“Cards and flowers on your window… your friends all plead for you to stay.”

G’night!

-MAC <>< = )]

P.S. Dreams?   tonight, God?  hmmm?  Pleeeeeeease? =)  K… thanks… (Whatever You just said.)

May we all live thankful lives…

Leave a Reply

